Is anyone on here sick of sports?

I guess this is a weird thing to ask on a sports forum, but is anyone else here really just sick of sports (including college football and all the ND drama)...?

It's just all so gross for so many reasons. Maybe I get an extra dose of it because I have to cover sports for a living, but I'm just so tired of all the scumbag coaches/players/execs and all the cheating and money and expansion and realignment and all the cliches we hear from everyone about everything. No one's real anymore and it seems like all the fun is gone.

Does anyone else here just want to turn the TV off any maybe never come back to watching it, or is this just me? Maybe part of it is my personal life not being awesome either, but god...I've never cared less about sports than I do now.

I think I'd rather just read a comic book these days.

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Here's what you do: go play.

Watching sports is only for when you're too tired to play them. Watch too much and play too little and you are bound to get disillusioned. Lebron James is exciting and all, but he can not match the adrenaline rush you get from a front row seat of your own physical endeavor, be it racquetball, basketball, cycling, or running. It's no different that when you were a little kid, except that instead of your mother yelling at you to come home, it's usually someone you can ignore.

There's other benefits too. Here, for example, is my online skating partner Helga.

http://cdn.bleacherreport.net/images_root/slides/photos/000/182/761/JuliaMancuso2displayimage_display_image.jpg?1270961178

I'm with you Colin. I'm sort of tired of the whole thing. I've stopped coming here as much. Don't watch NBA anymore. Gave up baseball. Only thing I watch with regularity is NASCAR.